Website accessibility. If you are using a screen reader and are having difficulty reading or accessing this site please contact us at 1-888-627-2328.


Election of Officials

In accordance with the election calendar, the Nominating Committee has made nominations to fill two vacancies on the Board of Directors. Nominees (3-year terms): 
  • Lewis E. Andrews
  • Frank E. Peñaranda
Nomination By Petition
Nominations by petition must be filed with the Secretary of the Board by March 12, 2014. Each petition must contain the printed names, account numbers and signatures of 500 members. Contact NASA Federal Credit Union for a petition form.
Nominations by petition must be accompanied by a brief statement of qualifications, biographical data and a signed certificate from the nominee stating that he or she is agreeable to nomination and will serve if elected.
Mail petitions to:
Secretary, Board of Directors
NASA Federal Credit Union, PO Box 1588
Bowie, MD 20717-1588
All elections shall be determined by plurality vote and shall be by mail ballot except where there is only one nominee for each position to be filled. Nominations shall not be made from the floor unless sufficient nominations have not been made to provide for one nominee for each vacant position or circumstances prevent the candidacy of the one nominee for a position to be filled. Only those positions without a nominee shall be subject to nominations from the floor. Election results will be announced at the Annual Meeting, April 28, 2014.
Nominees For Election 2014
(listed alphabetically)
Lewis E. Andrews has been a volunteer with the credit union movement for more than 30 years, serving on several committees including the Strategic Planning and Savings Committees. Mr. Andrews was elected to the Board of Directors in 1984. He currently serves as secretary to the Board of Directors and as Chairman of the Asset/Liability Committee.
A graduate of Alabama A&M University, with a BS degree in Mathematics and Chemistry, Mr. Andrews also received a M.S. degree in Systems Management from the University of Southern California. 
Mr. Andrews retired from NASA Headquarters in July 1994, after 27 years of government service. He is currently owner and President of The Andrews Method, Inc.
Frank E. Peñaranda has served as NASA Federal Credit Union Vice Chairman since 1997, been a Board member since 1992 and a credit union volunteer since 1973. Mr. Peñaranda also currently serves as Chairman of the Investment Services, Policy, and Strategic Planning Committees and is an active member of the Asset/Liability and Scholarship Committees. He helped create the Aerospace Financial Services Co., the Credit Union’s wholly owned subsidiary, and served as Board Chairman for six years.
One of Mr. Peñaranda’s many important contributions to the credit union was his service as Chairman of the Supervisory Committee. For 20 years, he served our members as “ombudsman,” acting as a mediator between the members and the Board of Directors, and served as operational “watchdog” of the credit union.
Mr. Peñaranda retired from NASA in 1997 after a 28-year career during which he served in several senior executive positions.